Newsletter - 27 October 2018

If you are a young person, or have a friend, child, grandchild, niece, nephew, or relative, we invite you to join or have them

Join an online gathering of young people around the world Saturday, November 3rd, 2018

Pope Francis called a Synod on Youth which has been going on in Rome with young representatives from every part of the world present and speaking to the Pope and bishops about their needs, their wants, and their hopes for some renewal of the Roman Catholic Church. It will end tomorrow and a report will be shared with the world. Given the resistance of some hierarchical members to change, the report is expected to be watered down but will still reflect some of the positions proposed by young people. This critical discussion cannot end with the closing of the Synod.

We are inviting all young people from around the world to join this online young Catholic International post-synodal listening and conversation session - a special opportunity to be part of this movement of young people stepping up to re-found, reestablish, and renew the Church that Jesus intended when he said: "Thou are Peter and upon this rock I will build my Church."

Whether you are an active Catholic, a former Catholic, this-Church-no-longer-meets-my-needs Catholic, or wishing-to-find-a-community-of-like-minded people-my-age Catholic, this is a special opportunity to:

1. to let your voices be heard regarding your concerns and your hopes for the Roman Catholic Church;

2. to hear from attendees at the Synod on Youth called by Pope Francis that is just being completed in Rome;

3. to discuss next steps in supporting the renewal of the Church to address issues facing young people in today's world;

4. to join or start a young person's Small Christian Community locally or online.

Be a missioner. Bring a friend. You are welcomed to join with us next week on Saturday, November 3, 2018. Click on this link https://zoom.us/j/2429500175 at the time listed below based on your region of the world.

 

Location

Local Time

Time Zone

UTC Offset

 San Francisco (USA - California)  Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 8:00:00 am  PDT  UTC-7 hours
 New Orleans (USA - Louisiana)  Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 10:00:00 am  CDT  UTC-5 hours
 New York, NY (USA)  Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 11:00:00 am  EDT  UTC-4 hours
 Algiers (Algeria);Lagos (Nigeria)  Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 4:00:00 pm  CET  UTC+1 hour
 Paris (France)  Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 4:00:00 pm  CET  UTC+1 hour
 Karachi (Pakistan)  Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 8:00:00 pm  PKT  UTC+5 hours
 Mexicali (Mexico)  Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 8:00:00 am  PDT  UTC-7 hours
 Mexico City (Mexico)  Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 9:00:00 am  CST  UTC-6 hours
 Mumbai (India - Maharashtra)  Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 8:30:00 pm  IST  UTC+5:30 hours
Nairobi (Kenya) Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 6:00:00 pm EAT UTC+3 hours
Dublin (Ireland) Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 3:00:00 pm GMT UTC
Rio de Janeiro (Brazil) Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 12:00:00 noon BRT UTC-3 hours

This event will originate at the University of Loyola in New Orleans, Louisiana, USA and is being coordinated by Alloys Nyakundi, a young graduate student from Kenya. He has been working with AMECEA (Association Member Episcopal Conference of Eastern Africa) and has been helping young people to form Young People Small Christian Communities which gives them an avenue to meet weekly, share there challenges, listen to one another, and connect their life experiences to the Scriptures.

You can find more information and material on their Facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/groups/875453985953421/ and global website http://smallchristiancommunities.org.

Our Church is in crisis. Pope Francis called this Synod on Youth because he clearly believes that young people are the future of the Church and can help, more than all the bishops and cardinals, to steer the Church in the direction needed in this 21st century. More importantly, young people are facing many new challenges today that simply didn't exist in previous generations. Returning to small faith communities, as was done in the early Church, can be the hope and strength of the Church in today's world.

Save this date. Join with us and bring a friend.

Rene Reid
CCRI, director